district_new2 Logo"Building Bridges"
P.O. Box 181 | Monmouth Junction, NJ | 08852 | Telephone: 732-297-7800
Instructional Council Who We Are: Instructional Council is a group of South Brunswick Public Schools’ teachers whose general purpose is to explore ways to improve the educational program of the school district.  The Council acts as an advisory board for the district and works collaboratively with the Local Professional Development Committee to provide professional development opportunities to district teachers. Instructional Council provides grant dollars toward attendance at workshops or for participation in projects that enhance student and/or teacher performance and promote professional growth.

Teachers are elected by each school’s staff, ensuring representation in each building and at every grade level within the district.  There are 1-4 representatives per school; the actual number is based on the number of teachers in that school. The Council also includes representatives from administration, Student Service, and the Superintendent’s Office. Instructional Council Grants: Each year, pending budget approval, district funds are set aside for Instructional Council Grant distributions.  Grants are awarded to teachers based on the quality of their application and the impact the professional development opportunity could have on our students.  Recipients are either provided full or partial funding.

Grants may include items such as:

Grants awarded during the Winter 2008 Grant Reading:

Robert Saldino Crossroads North Crossroads Community Composts
Paige Rimmer Crossroads South Portable Interactive Teaching/Learning Station
Donna Mehta Crossroads North Projectors for World Language Classrooms
Mike Recine
Ana Liptak
Janet Weiner
Crossroads North Trout in the Classroom
Lindsey Fisher
Eda Schmalz
Cambridge Conference for NJ Kindergarten Teachers

Current Members:
School Name Email
Brooks Crossing Lauren Magee lauren.magee@sbschools.org
Shannon Iaffaldano shannon.iaffaldano@sbschools.org
Brunswick Acres Theresa Castrantas theresa.castrantas@sbschools.org
Ken Kowalski kenneth.kowalski@sbschools.org
Cambridge Michael Touhey michael.touhey@sbschools.org
Lisa Garwood lisa.garwood@sbschools.org
Constable Christa Freeman christa.freeman@sbschools.org
Lindsey McLelland lindsey.mclelland@sbschools.org
Crossroads North Maureen Hartman maureen.hartman@sbschools.org
Tina Vigliotti tina.vigliotti@sbschools.org
Kim Zito kim.zito@sbschools.org
Sue Hurley susan.hurley@sbschools.org
Crossroads South Kristen Ceppa kristen.ceppa@sbschools.org
Marni Miller marni.miller@sbschools.org
Rob Sears robert.sears@sbschools.org
Pat Nero patricia.nero@sbschools.org
Greenbrook Kathleen Walko kathleen.walko@sbschools.org
High School Catherine LaMoreaux catherine.lamoreaux@sbschools.org
Mary Frances Ryan Howley MaryFrances.RyanHowley@sbschools.org
Gina Welsh gina.welsh@sbschools.org
Edith Fox edith.fox@sbschools.org
Indian Fields Karen Kinsey karen.kinsey@sbschools.org
Nicole Graves nicole.graves@sbschools.org
Danielle Stanley danielle.stanley@sbschools.org
Monmouth Junction Renee Schneider renee.schneider@sbschools.org


Grant applications and guidelines are available through PDExpress.